Fire and EMS Commission (“the Commission”) provides planning-level oversight of the Fire and EMS systems in the County; oversees strategic planning efforts; and provides a mechanism for collaboration and coordination among the Director, the County Sheriff, volunteer companies, and the Board of Supervisors on issues impacting fire, EMS, and emergency management services.

The Commission shall work in coordination with the Director on these issues, and the Director shall provide staff support to the Commission.


Membership Composition; Term. The Commission shall consist of seven (7) members including one (1) member of the Board of Supervisors; the Clarke County Sheriff; two (2) representatives recommended by the Clarke County Fire and Rescue Association to represent Fire and EMS services respectively; and three (3) citizens-at-large representing consumers of fire and EMS services.   

The two (2) Fire and Rescue Association representatives shall serve one-year terms. The three (3) citizens-at-large shall be appointed for initial terms of one (1) year, two (2) years, and three (3) years and thereafter for four (4) year terms. The Sheriff shall serve a term coterminous with the term of office. The Board of Supervisors shall appoint a representative annually at or shortly after their annual organizational meeting to serve a one-year term.

Meeting Information:

Meetings are held as scheduled


Staff Representative:

Frank Davis, Director Fire & EMS This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


  2015 Emergency Management Strategic Plan


For Current Membership or Other Information Contact the Staff Representative.